Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Oberlin Women's Cross Country Nabs 2018 NCAC Title

Oberlin Women's Cross Country Nabs 2018 NCAC Title

Results | All-ConferencePhoto Gallery

POWELL, Ohio – Oberlin captured the 2018 North Coast Athletic Conference (NCAC) Women’s Cross Country Championship on Saturday, Oct. 27. The Yeowomen finished with a total of 33 points, one point better than defending champion, Allegheny. The Gators’ Emily Forner (Beaver, Pa./Beaver Area) was the individual champion with a winning time of 21:38.9.

Behind Oberlin (33) and Allegheny (34) was Kenyon in third place with 115 points. DePauw (128) and Wooster (132) rounded out the top five while Ohio Wesleyan (153), Denison (165) and Wittenberg (187) completed the eight-team field.

Oberlin Women’s Cross Country was led by senior Linnea Halsten (Madison, Wis./Madison East) who finished second with a time of 22:01.6. Oona Jung-Beeman (Wilmette, Ill./New Trier) collected a top-five finish with a time of 22:39.2 while sixth place also went to the Yeowomen as Marija Crook (Carrboro, N.C./Chapel Hill) crossed just behind her teammate in 22:46.5. Oberlin’s scoring was rounded out with Shannon Wargo (LaGrange, Ohio/Keystone) in eighth (23:18.9) and Joy Castro-Wehr (Nevada City, Calif./Nevada Union) in 12th (23:32.5).

Forner was named NCAC Women’s Cross Country Runner of the Year after edging Oberlin’s Halsten, the 2017 NCAC Women’s Cross Country Champion, by 23.6 seconds. Along with Forner, the Gators had three of the top-four finishers, including Sarah Hevener (Hilliard, Ohio/Hilliard Bradley) in third (22:23.6) and Mica Hanish (Baden, Pa./Ambridge) in fourth (22:29.1). Allegheny has finished in the top two of the standings in four-consecutive seasons.

NCAC Women’s Cross Country Newcomer of the Year went to DePauw’s Jenny Noll (La Porte, Ind./La Porte). Noll was the championship’s top first-year competitor, finishing in seventh place (23:09.2). The top seven finishers overall are also recognized as All-NCAC first-team honorees.

Oberlin’s Ray Appenheimer was voted the Women’s Coach of the Year after the Yeowomen took home their ninth title in program history. It’s also Appenheimer’s ninth Coach of the Year award (2018, 2009-14, 2005-06).


Runner of the Year Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year
Emily Forner, Allegheny Jenny Noll, DePauw Ray Appenheimer, Oberlin