DePauw Takes Fall Lead In NCAC All-Sports Race

DePauw University posted top-5 finishes in six of the seven fall championship sports to take the early lead in the race for the 2017-18 NCAC All-Sports championship
DePauw University posted top-5 finishes in six of the seven fall championship sports to take the early lead in the race for the 2017-18 NCAC All-Sports championship

2015-16 NCAC Fall All-Sports Update

DePauw University posted top-five finishes in all seven fall championship sports to take a lead in the race for the 2015-16 North Coast Athletic Conference All-Sports championship. 

The Tigers captured their first-ever league title in women's soccer and posted second-place finishes in both field hockey and football. In addition, DePauw finished third in men's soccer, women's cross country and volleyball. The Tigers rounded out the fall season with a fifth-place showing in men's cross country to compile 56.5 points and a nine-point lead over Denison (47.5) in the race for the coveted Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy. Denison earned top-five finishes in six fall sports, with included the women's soccer team placing second for the Big Red's top team finish of the season. 

 Ohio Wesleyan, which finished second in both men's soccer and volleyball, is one-and-a-half points behind Denison in third-place with 46.0 points, while Kenyon checked in at fourth with 42.0 points after collecting league titles in field hockey and men's soccer. Oberlin and Wittenberg tied for fifth with 39.5 each, followed by Allegheny in seventh (33.5), Wooster in eighth (25.5), Wabash in ninth (24.0) and Hiram in 10th (18.0). Wittenberg earned the volleyball title for the 10th year in a row and the 21st time in program history, while Wabash climbed back to the top of the football standings for the first time since 2011 and the seventh time in history. In addition, Allegheny swept the cross country titles, giving both the men's and women's programs their 12th titles in history.

The All-Sports champion earns the Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy, given annually to the school that performs the best across the NCAC's 23 sports. Ten points are awarded for a first-place finish, nine for a second, eight for a third, and so on. Men's and women's performances are combined, exemplifying the North Coast's commitment to equity and balance among programs. Wooster won three of the first four All-Sports championships, interrupted only by Denison in year two. Ohio Wesleyan followed with a six-year run, leading to titles by Wooster (twice), Wittenberg (once), Denison (nine), OWU (twice), a tie between Denison and OWU in 2009. Wittenberg earned its second All-Sports title in 2010, followed  by Denison in 2011 and DePauw in 2012. Denison then claimed back-to-back titles in 2013 and 2014, before DePauw regained the championship a year ago.

Ohio Wesleyan leads the way with 145 team championships during the NCAC's 32 playing seasons. Denison is next with 130 titles, followed by Allegheny (113), Kenyon (106) , Wittenberg (92), Wooster (78), Wabash (21), DePauw (19), Oberlin (15), and Hiram (2).

North Coast Athletic Conference 2015-16 
All-Sports Standings

Men's Standings   1. DePauw 53.0
  Women's Standings
1. Wabash  24.0   2. Ohio Wesleyan 49.0
  1. DePauw  34.0 
 2.  DePauw  22.5    3. Denison 44.5
  2.  Denison 30.0 
 3.  Ohio Wesleyan  22.0    4. Wittenberg 41.0
   3.  Wittenberg  27.5 
 4.  Oberlin  19.0   5. Kenyon 39.0
   4.   Kenyon 26.5 
 5.  Denison  17.5   6. Oberlin 36.0
   5.   Ohio Wesleyan 24.0 
 6.  Kenyon  15.5   7. Allegheny 34.0
   6.   Oberlin 20.5 
 7.   Allegheny 15.0    8. Wooster 29.0
   7.  Allegheny  18.5 
8.  Wittenberg 12.0   9. Wabash* 24.0
   8.   Wooster 17.0 
9.  Wooster  8.5   10. Hiram 23.5
   9.  Hiram  10.0 
10.   Hiram 8.0     * - Wabash is an all-male institution