DePauw Maintains Lead In 2016-17 All-Sports Race

DePauw Maintains Lead In 2016-17 All-Sports Race

2016-17 NCAC Winter All-Sports Update

DePauw University won one winter sport league title and finished in the top-five in four additional sports to maintain its lead in the race for the 2016-17 North Coast Athletic Conference All-Sports Championship. 

The Tigers won their fifth conference championship in women's basketball in the last six years after finishing the regular season with a 15-1 record against league foes, while also finishing third overall in both men's swimming & diving and women's swimming & diving for the fifth year in a row. The Tigers also finished fifth overall in men's indoor track & field and in a tie for fifth in the NCAC men's basketball standings, while the women's indoor track & field team rounded out the winter season with a seventh-place finish. DePauw accumulated 41.5 total all-sports points during the winter season and now holds an eight-and-a-half point lead over Denison by a 100.5-92.0 margin in the race for the coveted Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy. The Big Red recorded the most all-sports points during the winter season with 46.5 after posting five top-five finishes. DU won league titles in both men's and women's swimming & diving and finished in a tie for second in men's basketball. The Big Red were also part of a four-way tie for third-place in women's basketball and the fourth-place team in women's indoor track & field.

Ohio Wesleyan, which last won the NCAC all-sports title in 2008-09, won league titles in both men's basketball and men's indoor track & field to sit in third-place with 85.0 points, while Kenyon sits fourth with 79 after posting second-place finishes in women's basketball and both men's and women's swimming & diving. Wittenberg rounds out the top-five in fifth-place with 75.0 points, followed by Wooster in sixth (66.0), Oberlin in seventh (63.0), Allegheny in eighth (62.0), Wabash in ninth (43.0) and Hiram in 10th (30.0). Oberlin picked up the last title of the winter season by winning its first outright league championship in women's indoor track & field.

The All-Sports champion earns the Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy, given annually to the school that performs the best across the NCAC's 23 sports. Ten points are awarded for a first-place finish, nine for a second, eight for a third, and so on. Men's and women's performances are combined, exemplifying the North Coast's commitment to equity and balance among programs. Wooster won three of the first four All-Sports championships, interrupted only by Denison in year two. Ohio Wesleyan followed with a six-year run, leading to titles by Wooster (twice), Wittenberg (once), Denison (nine), OWU (twice), a tie between Denison and OWU in 2009. Wittenberg earned its second All-Sports title in 2010, followed  by Denison in 2011 and DePauw in 2012. Denison then claimed back-to-back titles in 2013 and 2014, before DePauw regained the championship in 2015. The Big Red then reclaimed the title once again in the 2015-16 academic year. 

Ohio Wesleyan leads the way with 152 team championships during the NCAC's 33 playing seasons. Denison is next with 137 titles, followed by Allegheny (115), Kenyon (109) , Wittenberg (97), Wooster (80), DePauw (22), Wabash (21), Oberlin (16) and Hiram (2).

North Coast Athletic Conference 2016-17
All-Sports Standings

Men's Standings   1. DePauw 100.5   Women's Standings
1. DePauw 43.5   2. Denison
92.0   1. DePauw  57.0
  2.  Ohio Wesleyan 
43.0   3. Ohio Wesleyan
85.0   2. Kenyon
  Wabash *
43.0   4. Kenyon
79.0    3.  Denison
4.  Denison
42.0   5. Wittenberg
75.0    4.  Wittenberg
 5.  Allegheny 31.0   6. Wooster
66.0    5.   Ohio Wesleyan 42.0
 6.  Wooster 
30.5   7. Oberlin
63.0    6.  Oberlin
 7.  Wittenberg
30.0   8. Allegheny
62.0    7.  Wooster
8.  Kenyon  28.5   9. Wabash* 43.0    8.  Allegheny 31.0
  9.  Oberlin
22.5   10. Hiram 30.0    9.  Hiram  16.0
10.   Hiram 14.0     * - Wabash is an all-male institution