Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Oberlin's Arthur Named 2016 Hunsinger Award Winner

Oberlin's Arthur Named 2016 Hunsinger Award Winner

Recent Oberlin College graduate and cross country and track & field runner Geno Arthur (Camarillo, CA/Rio Mesa) has been selected as the recipient of the 2016 North Coast Athletic Conference Don Hunsinger Award.

Arthur entered his senior season as one of the best distance runners in the NCAC and he cemented his name at the top of that list following the 2015-16 academic year after being named the NCAC Cross Country Runner of the Year and the Outdoor Track & Field Distance Runner of the Year. In the fall, he became the first Yeomen runner in school history to win the NCAC men's cross country individual title with an 8k time of 25:00.7. The three-time, first-team, All-NCAC cross country performer then went on to become the first individual regional champion in program history with a time of 25:13.7 at the Great Lakes Regional Championships. He then capped off his illustrious cross country career with his third-straight trip to the national meet and his second consecutive All-American performance after finishing 22nd overall with a time of 24:47.7. Arthur continued his dominance over NCAC distance runners in the spring as he was crowned the league's Distance Runner of the Year after winning both the 5,000- and 10,000-meter runs at the 2016 NCAC Outdoor Track & Field Championships. The two-time Oberlin Male Athlete of the Year honoree was also named the 2015 NCAC Indoor Track & Field Distance Runner of the Year in his junior campaign. 

Arthur's success wasn't just achieved on the athletic venues as he recently graduated from Oberlin with a 3.5 grade-point-average as a biology major and was named to the NCAC Academic Honor Roll in both 2014-15 and 2015-16. Arthur, who was named the 2016 John N. Stern/NCAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year at Oberlin, also earned the Lysle K. Butler Award from Oberlin in 2015 and was awarded the Oberlin Biology Department's Hope Hibbard Memorial Scholarship in 2016. 

Arthur was also active in service and leadership positions in both the campus and local communities during his time at Oberlin. In the fall of 2014 he designed and implemented ecology lab protocols as a teaching assistant in the Oberlin biology department and also served as a NINDE Scholars high school tutor from 2013-16. In the community, he volunteered his time at the Kendal Retirement Home and also served as a communications and development intern at the Alzheimer's Association in the summer of 2014. He was also an associate at the Western Reserve Land Conservancy Preservation and was a communications intern at the Gulf Restoration Network in January of 2016.

Arthur was one of seven outstanding nominees considered for the selection committee. The other candidates included:

  • Nick Flannery, Football, The College of Wooster
  • Jimmy Lasher, Men's Golf, Allegheny College
  • Daniel Purvlicis, Men's Basketball, Wabash College
  • Adam Scher, Football, Hiram College
  • Patrick Shevelson, Men's Lacrosse, Kenyon College
  • Corey Stump, Football, Wittenberg University                                                                                                                                   

This award commemorates former Oberlin administrator and coach Don Hunsinger, who had a far-reaching influence on the athletes he coached in a wide variety of sports. Over more than three decades, Hunsinger served Oberlin as athletic director, chairman of the department of physical education, had stints as head coach for Yeoman football, baseball, and men’s and women’s tennis, and assisted with the men’s and women’s basketball programs. Four times he earned NCAC Coach of the Year recognition, twice in men’s tennis and twice in women’s. Hunsinger, who retired from the College in 2008, continues to serve the conference as Director of Tennis and assists in the administration of the conference’s swimming & diving championship.

The award recognizes one male senior student-athlete who has distinguished himself throughout his collegiate career in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. Each conference institution can nominate a distinguished male student-athlete for the honor. A committee of North Coast Athletic Conference administrators and faculty representatives, in conjunction with the conference office, makes the selection.

NCAC Don Hunsinger Award Winners

2016 - Geno Arthur, Oberlin
2015 - Casey Cempre, Denison
2014 - Andrew Chevalier, Kenyon
2013 - Curtis Ramsey, Kenyon
2012 - Sharif Kronemer, Ohio Wesleyan
2011 - Kyle Herman, Ohio Wesleyan
2010 - J. David Gatz, Ohio Wesleyan
2009 - Kyle Holliday, Ohio Wesleyan