Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Denison's Wesseling 2018 Hunsinger Award Winner

Denison's Wesseling 2018 Hunsinger Award Winner

Recent Denison University graduate and swimming student-athlete Jason Wesseling (Hudsonville, MI/Jenison) has been selected as the recipient of the 2018 North Coast Athletic Conference Don Hunsinger Award

In the pool, Wesseling posted eight All-America certificates, nine NCAC individual championships and 14 All-NCAC (top-3) certificates over the course of his four-year career. He capped his Denison experience by helping the Big Red to an NCAA Division III men's swimming & diving national championship in March of 2018. The title was the second national championship for Denison during his time on the roster as the Big Red took home the 2016 trophy as well. Wesseling also helped the Big Red to four NCAC championships from 2015-18.

Among his All-America performances, his top individual finishes at the national meet came this past season when he finished fifth in the 200 backstroke (1:48.03) and sixth in the 100 back with a time of 48.97. He also tied for sixth in the 100 back with an identical time (48.97) in 2016. That year he was part of the fourth-place 200 freestyle relay (1:21.12) and the fifth-place 200 medley relay (1:29.37). 

Wesseling's success wasn't just limited to the pool during his career at Denison as he recently graduated with a 3.96 grade-point-average while majoring in English and political science and minoring in classical studies.  The two-time Google Cloud Academic All-America ® honoree was also a three-year member of the NCAC Academic Honor Roll, a three-time College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-American and a three-time Denison Top-50 Student-Athlete honoree. He was named Denison's male winner of the 2018 NCAC Scholar-Athlete award and is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, as well as Eta Sigma Chi (Classical Studies Department Honor Society); Sigma Tau Delta (English Department Honors Society); Pi Sigma Alpha (Political Science Department Honors Society).

Wesseling was one of seven outstanding nominees considered for the selection committee. The other candidates included:

  • Nate Axelrod, Men's Basketball, Ohio Wesleyan University
  • Polo Burguete, Cross Country/Track & Field, DePauw University
  • Cody Cochran, Baseball, Wabash College
  • Kelvin Jones, Men's Basketball, Hiram College
  • Patrick Mohorcic, Football, The College of Wooster
  • Matthew Von Roemer, Baseball, Kenyon College                                                                                                                          

This award commemorates former Oberlin administrator and coach Don Hunsinger, who had a far-reaching influence on the athletes he coached in a wide variety of sports. Over more than three decades, Hunsinger served Oberlin as athletic director, chairman of the department of physical education, had stints as head coach for Yeoman football, baseball, and men’s and women’s tennis, and assisted with the men’s and women’s basketball programs. Four times he earned NCAC Coach of the Year recognition, twice in men’s tennis and twice in women’s. Hunsinger, who retired from the College in 2008, continues to serve the conference as Director of Tennis. 

The award recognizes one male senior student-athlete who has distinguished himself throughout his collegiate career in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. Each conference institution can nominate a distinguished male student-athlete for the honor. A committee of North Coast Athletic Conference administrators and faculty representatives, in conjunction with the conference office, makes the selection.

NCAC Don Hunsinger Award Winners
2018 - Jason Wesseling, Denison
2017 - Trevor Manz, Kenyon
2016 - Geno Arthur, Oberlin
2015 - Casey Cempre, Denison
2014 - Andrew Chevalier, Kenyon
2013 - Curtis Ramsey, Kenyon
2012 - Sharif Kronemer, Ohio Wesleyan
2011 - Kyle Herman, Ohio Wesleyan
2010 - J. David Gatz, Ohio Wesleyan
2009 - Kyle Holliday, Ohio Wesleyan