Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2008/09 - 2009/10


September, 2008: The North Coast unveils its 25th anniversary logo (right) and begins the 25th season of competition. The NCAC distributes commemorative items, plans to host a panel at the NCAA Convention and will have a celebration as part of the conference's annual meetings.

January, 2009: The NCAC partnered with the NCAA to sponsor a panel at the national convention entitled "Academics, Athletics and Today’s Sports Culture Expectations and Realities.” The panel featured New York Times columnist Bill Pennington, Denison president Dale Knobel and Ohio Wesleyan women's basketball coach Nan Carney-DeBord.

March, 2009: Oberlin and Ohio Wesleyan tie for the women's indoor track NCAC crown. The title is the first for the Yeowomen and the third straight, and eighth overall, for the Bishops. The co-champs are not only the first in the 25-year history of the women's event, but also in the history of track in the NCAC - men's or women's, indoors or out ... Kenyon's men's swimming team won its record 30th consecutive NCAA Division III title. The Ladies also claimed the DIII crown, their 23rd overall, and third consecutive. The Ladies own the longest consecutive women's title streak at 17 (1984-2000).

May, 2009: Wooster baseball reaches the championship game of the NCAA Division III tournament before losing twice, and finishing second to St. Thomas ... Denison and Ohio Wesleyan tie for the All-Sports Championship. It is the first tie in the 25-year history of the conference ... The NCAC celebrated 25 years with a reception and dinner as part of the annual meetings, hosted by Ohio Wesleyan. OWU's men's soccer coach and former AD Jay Martin, and retired Battling Bishop coach and administrator Dick Gordin were featured speakers. Honored were 17 25-year verterans with Silver Anniversary Awards ... The Denison women's doubles team of Kristin Cobb and Marta Drane advance to the semifinals of the NCAA III doubles tournament ... For the first time since 2001, Denison's men's lacrosse team reaches the quarterfinals in the national tournament.

June, 2009: NCAC Executive Director Dennis Collins passes away. Collins helped found the conference in 1983 and served as its Executive Director for 25 years ... Kyle Holliday of Ohio Wesleyan wins the inaugural Don Hunsinger Award. The award honors one male senior student-athlete based on academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership.


July, 2009: NCAC Associate Executive Director Keri Alexander Luchowski named Acting Executive Director of the NCAC in advance of a national search to fill the position.

September, 2009: Kenyon's Tracy Menzel (left) named one of nine finalists for the 2009 NCAA Woman of the Year Award. The Award, one of the most prestigious honors the NCAA bestows, recognizes senior student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service, and leadership ... Wooster announces the addition of women's golf, to begin play in the 2010-11 season. The sport will be the 23rd for the Fighting Scots athletic program. As a result, the NCAC will sponsor women's golf as its 23rd championship sport, beginngin in 2010-11.

October, 2009: Earlham announces it will depart the NCAC for the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference, beginning with the 2010-11 season.

November, 2009: The Oberlin women's cross country team qualifies for the NCAA Division III championship meet as a team.

December, 2009: The NCAC Presidents' Council approves a proposal to retain Earlham as an affiliate NCAC member in field hockey - the NCAC's first such member ... Wittenberg football advanced to the NCAA Division III quarterfinals, before falling to UW-Whitewater, 31-13. The loss was their first all season long.

February, 2010: The women's basketball tournament Most Valuable Performer trophy is re-christened the Nan Nichols Award to honor the former women's basketball coach and administrator from Wooster who had an instrumental role in the formation of the NCAC.

April, 2010: Ohio Wesleyan announces the addition of women's golf for the 2010-11 season.

March, 2010: The Kenyon men claimed their record 31st consecutive national swimming & diving championship by a record margin, racking up 696 points after four days of competition. The title extends the longest streak in NCAA sports at any division in any sport ... Wabash's Mac Petty is awarded an NABC Guardian of the Game Award.

May, 2010: Wittenberg wins its second All-Sports championship, and first since 1995-96. The Tigers posted top-five finishes in 18 of 22 sports. In 2009-10, award was named the Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Award in honor of the NCAC's first executive director, who passed away in 2009 ... Wittenberg's Jordan Millice wins an NCAA Elite 88 Award, given to the the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average participating at the finals site for each of the association's 88 championships each year ... Oberlin hosts the 2010 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championships.