Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


August, 2013 – The North Coast Athletic Conference kicks off its year-long 30th Anniversary celebration. The league named 30th anniversary teams in 22 of its 23 championship sports … Wittenberg athletic director Garnett Purnell announced his retirement following 14 years of distinguished service.

November, 2013 – For the first time since the 1993 season, three NCAC men’s soccer teams represented the league in the NCAA Tournament (Kenyon, Oberlin and Ohio Wesleyan).

December, 2013 – Wabash track & field coach Clyde Morgan was selected as a member of the USA Track & Field coaches advisory committee.

January, 2014 – Denison senior swimmer Damon Rosenburg was featured in Sports Illustrated’s “Faces In The Crowd” after becoming the first NCAA Div. III swimmer to post a sub-54-second time in the 100 breast (53.61) … Kenyon president, Dr. Sean M. Decatur, and Oberlin president, Marvin Krislov, JD, participated in a conference at the White House aimed at increasing higher-education opportunities for low-income and disadvantaged students.

February, 2014 – Hiram announced Dr. Lori Varlotta as the college’s 22nd presidents, effective July 1, 2014. Dr. Varlotta succeeds Thomas V. Chema, who announced his retirement in May of 2013 after leading the institution for 11 years.

March, 2014 – USTFCCCA named Ohio Wesleyan senior Cara DeAngelis and Wittenberg senior Victor Banjo as Great Lakes Region Indoor Track Athletes of the Year, while Wabash head coach Clyde Morgan and assistant coach Roger Busch were named the Great Lakes Region Men’s Coach of the Year and Men’s Assistant Coach of the Year, respectively … The Allegheny men’s tennis program was named the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Team Sportsmanship Award recipient … DePauw women’s basketball Kris Huffman named the All-Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year … Wooster senior Doug Thorpe named Great Lakes Region Player of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) … The DePauw women’s basketball team advanced to the sectional final round (round of 8) of the NCAA Tournament and closed out the season with an impressive overall record of 30-2 … The Kenyon men’s swimming & diving team collected its NCAA-record 33rd national title after accumulating 480 points at the 2014 NCAA Div. III Swimming & Diving Championships in Indianapolis, Indiana. The Denison men finished second at the national meet with 472 points, while the Kenyon women also posted a second-place showing (456.5), followed by Denison in fourth (374.5) … Denison senior Al Weik became the first men’s swimmer in NCAA Div. III history to win four consecutive titles in the 1,650 freestyle … Kenyon sophomore diver Maria Zarka named NCAA Div. IIII Diver of the Year, while KC diving coach Andy Scott named NCAA Div. III Diving Coach of the Year.

April, 2014 – Ohio Wesleyan Sports Information Director Mark Beckenbach announced as the 2014 recipient of the Warren Berg Award from the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) … Wabash senior swimmer Adam Barnes earned a Fullbright Scholarship as an English Teaching Assistant in Spain … Wittenberg named Gary Williams, Ph.D, as Director of Athletics and Recreation.

May, 2014 – Oberlin senior women’s tennis player Brenna Sheldon named the Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award winner for the Central Region by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) … Denison won the NCAC All-Sports Championship, earning the 2013-14 Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy. The Big Red posted top-five finishes in 19-of-23 sports to earn the NCAC All-Sports Championship for the 14th time in school history … The Denison men’s lacrosse team suffered their lone loss of the season in the quarterfinal round of the NCAA Tournament. The Big Red entered the quarterfinal matchup against Salisbury riding a 19-game winning streak … The Wittenberg men’s golf team finished fifth at the NCAA Championships, played at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro, North Carolina, with a 72-hole score of 1,203 … USTFCCCA named Ohio Wesleyan senior Cara DeAngelis as Great Lakes Region Outdoor Track Athlete of Year, while OWU coaches Kris Boey and Matt Wackerly were named the Central Region’s Head Coach of the Year and Assistant Coach of the Year, respectively.

June, 2014 – Kenyon graduate and men’s swimmer Andrew Chavalier was named the Academic All-American of the Year on the 2014 Capital One Academic All-America Div. III At-Large Team … DePauw Sports Information Director Bill Wagner inducted into the CoSIDA Hall of Fame … Lacrosse Magazine named Denison head coach Mike Caravana as Div. III Coach of the Year … NCAC named Kenyon’s Andrew Chavalier as the recipient of the 2014 Don Hunsinger Award and DePauw’s Paige Gooch as the recipient of the 2014 Pam Smith Award … NCAC announced inaugural Academic Honor Roll with 637 student-athletes of sophomore status or higher maintaining a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.50 or higher.