Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC Baseball All-Decade Teams

NCAC 30th Anniversary Baseball All-Decade Team

Four two-time NCAC Player of the Year award winners highlight the North Coast Athletic Conference's 30th Anniversary All-Decade Baseball Team. A pair of Wooster graduates dominated on the mound in the early part of the decade as Jon Oliver (2005-06) and Adam Samson (2007-08) both won back-to-back NCAC Pitcher of the Year honors, while 2012 Wabash graduate John Holm (2011-12) and 2009 Wooster graduate Sean Karpen (2008-09) were both back-to-back NCAC Player of the Year selections in the last decade.

Jon Oliver {left} started a string of five-straight Wooster players to win the NCAC Pitcher of the Year award as he was bestowed the honor in 2005 and '06. Oliver, who also earned All-NCAC second-team laurels in 2004, appeared in 42 games on the mound for the Fighting Scots in the last decade and allowed 59 earned runs in 205.0 innings of work for an ERA of 2.59. In three season's last decade, Oliver also struck out 182 batters and tallied nine complete-game wins in 33 total starts. In addition to his conference accolades, Oliver was a second-team selection on the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) All-American team in 2005 and also earned back-to-back first team nods on the ABCA All-Mideast Region Team in 2005 and '06.

Adam Samson {right}, a three-time All-NCAC first-team selection, piggy backed on Oliver's success by earning the NCAC Pitcher of the Year award in 2007 and '08. In four season's last decade, Samson compiled a career ERA of 2.86 after allowing 84 earned runs and setting 237 batters down on strikes in 264.2 innings of work. He appeared in 62 games during that stretch, posting an overall record of 28-7 with eight complete game victories in 42 careers starts. Samson was an ABCA first-team All-American in 2007 after he went a perfect 11-0 on the mound in just 14 total appearances. He was also named to the ABCA All-Mideast Region team three years in a row, earning first-team laurels in 2007 and second-team honors in 2006 and '08.  His names remains in the NCAC record book today as his 11-0 record in 2007 is tied with Wittenberg's Kevin Tatar for the top winning percentage by a pitcher in a season.

John Holm {left}, also a three-time All-NCAC first-team honoree, dominated at the plate in the latter part of the decade as he was awarded back-to-back NCAC Player of the Year awards in 2011 and '12. Holm played and started in 162 games for the Little Giants from 2009-12 and established himself as one of the premiere power hitters in the league during that time as he finished his career with 41 home runs, 34 doubles and nine triples for a .641 slugging percentage. In 562 total at-bats, Holm collected 185 hits for a .329 batting average to go along with 172 RBI and 141 runs scored. Holm earned Honorable Mention All-America honors from in 2011, making him the second player in Little Giant baseball history to be named an All-American. He was also an ABCA First Team All-Region pick in 2011 and a third-team selection in 2013.

Sean Karpen {right} was a mainstay in the middle of the Fighting Scots' lineup during the middle portion of the decade, capping off his career with back-to-back NCAC Player of the Year awards in 2008 and '09. His most productive season as a Scot came in 2009 when Wooster fell one win shy of the program's and NCAC's first NCAA Division III national title. After hitting .435 in '09, his totals of 223 at-bats and 97 hits still stand as single-season conference records today. In 179 career games, Karpen batted .394 (238-of-604) with 45 doubles, 19 home runs, eight triples, 189 runs scored and 137 RBI. He was also a pest on the base paths as he stole 85 bases in 101 total attempts. He was an ABCA second-team All-American in 2009 and earned back-to-back all-region nods from the ABCA, landing on the second team in '08 and the first team in '09.

There were five additional student-athletes named to the NCAC baseball 30th Anniversary all-decade squad that earned three first-team all-conference nods in the last 10 years, including Ohio Wesleyan second baseman Kyle Sherman (2005-07), Wooster outfielder Pat Christensen (2005, 07-08), Ohio Wesleyan outfielder Zach Frentsos (2009-11), Wabash outfielder Montana Timmons (2010-12) and Wooster designated hitter/first baseman Kurt Kapferer (2004-06). Kapferer and Sherman both collected NCAC Player of the Year honors in 2006 and '07, respectively, while Christensen was named the Newcomer of the Year in 2005.

The North Coast Athletic Conference is celebrating its 30th playing season by selecting All-Decade teams in nearly every championship sport. Players from the first 10 years of play were selected in 1993-94, while players who competed from 1993-2002 were named to the 20th Anniversary All-Decade team. All current head coaches were asked to vote, as were some former coaches and administrators.

Wooster won seven of the 10 NCAC baseball championships in the last 10 years and is currently the two-time defending league champions. Ohio Wesleyan collected back-to-back crowns in 2007-08, while Wabash is the only other league squad to hoist the trophy in 2011.

Founded in 1983, the North Coast Athletic Conference currently consists of 10 academically selective NCAA Division III colleges and universities - Allegheny College, Denison University, DePauw University, Hiram College, Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Wabash College, Wittenberg University and the College of Wooster along with affiliate member Earlham College (field hockey). The NCAC sponsors 23 championship sports, 11 for men and 12 for women.

NCAC All-Decade Baseball Teams