Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2016 All-NCAC Field Hockey Squad Announced

2016 All-NCAC Field Hockey Squad Announced

2016 All-NCAC Field Hockey Team

DePauw junior forward Paige Berliner (New Albany, OH/Columbus Acad.), Denison sophomore midfielder Lucy Pearsall  (Chicago, IL/Latin School of Chicago) and Kenyon junior goalie Sarah Speroff (Euclid, OH/Hawken) have been named the Players of the Year to highlight the 2016 All-North Coast Athletic Conference field hockey selections.  

Berliner, who is a repeat selection on the All-NCAC first team, was the NCAC’s most lethal threat up top in 2016 as she led the league  during the regular season with 45 points (2.37 ppg). She also led the conference with 19 goals and tied with six other players for third in the league with seven assists. Berliner fired off a conference-best 102 shots during the season for an average of 5.37 shots-per-game.  

Pearsall, the 2015 NCAC Newcomer of the Year, is the first player in the NCAC to be named a Player of the Year following a Newcomer of the Year selection since Denison’s Karen Lancaster accomplished the feat in 2001 & 2002. Pearsall also makes her second-straight appearance on the All-NCAC first team after stuffing the stat sheet in the regular season with 13 goals, seven assists, 33 points and 87 total shots.  

Speroff, who is now a three-time All-NCAC first-team selection, was a key cog on the Ladies’ defensive unit this year as she led the NCAC in the regular season in save percentage (.857) after allowing just 22 goals and making 132 saves on 154 total shots on goal. The 2014 NCAC Newcomer of the Year selection also collected seven shutouts on the year and registered a 1.20 goals-against-average in 1,281.54 minutes of action. 

Oberlin senior goalie Maggie Gossiaux (Metuchen, NJ/Metuchen) was named to the first team for the third year in a row, while DePauw junior defender Maddy Burds (Wilmette, IL/New Trier) and Kenyon junior midfielder/forward Shannon Hart (Mandara, Harare, Zimbabwe/Hellenic Acad.) were both named to the top team for the second year in a row after earning second-team laurels in 2014.  

Earlham senior midfielder/defender Megan Hut (Tiel, The Neatherlands/RSG Lingcollege), Denison senior forward Abby Martone (St. Louis, MO/John Burroughs School) and Wittenberg senior defender Michelle Murray (Pittsburgh, PA/North Allegheny) are all making their third appearance on an All-NCAC squad as first-team members this fall. All three were selected to the second team in 2015, while Martone was a first-team selection in 2014. Hut was a second-team honoree in 2014, while Murray received an honorable-mention nod as well.  

Ohio Wesleyan junior midfielder Courtney Peterson (Bexley, OH/Bexley) elevated to the top team from the second team in 2015, while two former honorable-mention selections also rose to the top team this year. Wooster senior forward Kerry O’Connor (Fayetteville, NY/Fayetteville-Manlius) was on the 2014 honorable mention team, while DePauw sophomore Rose Revolinski (Milwaukee, WI/Univ. School of Milwaukee) made the jump from the 2015 honorable mention squad.  

In addition, DePauw freshman forward Kate Milner (St. Louis, MO/John Burroughs School) was named the 2016 NCAC Newcomer of the Year after finishing her rookie season with 36 points in the regular season on 12 goals and 12 assists. The second-team All-NCAC selection also tied for the league-lead in game-winning goals (5) and was ninth among league players with 64 total shots. 

Finally, DePauw head coach Erika Dombkowski was voted the Coach of the Year for the first time in her career after she led the Tigers to their fourth NCAC title in program history with a 13-1 mark against league foes in the regular season. In just her second year at the helm of the DPU field hockey program, Dombkowski owns an overall record of 32-9 and led the Tigers into the NCAA Tournament in 2015.

Offensive Player of the Year Midfielder of the Year Defensive Player of the Year Newcomer of the Year Coach of the Year
Paige Berliner Lucy Pearsall Sarah Speroff Kate Milner Erika Dombkowski