Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC Field Hockey All-Decade Teams

NCAC 30th Anniversary Field Hockey All-Decade Team

Wooster's Amanda Artman and DePauw's Margaret Ellis headline the list of former student-athletes named to the North Coast Athletic Conference's 30th Anniversary All-Decade field hockey team. Artman separated herself from the pack as the most decorated player in NCAC field hockey history as she was named Offensive Player of the Year on four different occasions, 2006, '08, '09 and '10, while Ellis is the only other player in the past decade to garner back-to-back Offensive Player of the Year honors, 2011 & '12.

Artman {left} re-wrote the NCAC record book during her career at Wooster as she still owns four of the league's top four scoring records. Her 29 goals in 2008 is tied with Denison's Meg Filoon (1984), while her 71 points in 2008 is also tops in conference history. No player in NCAC history has compiled the career numbers as Artman either, as she owns the league's career records in goals (104), assists (49) and points (257). In addition to her dominance in the NCAC, Artman still stands among the nation's top offensive players all-time in Division III, sitting fifth in both career points and goals. Artman, a four-time NFHCA All-America selection, was also honored to represent her country as a member of Team USA at the 2009 Maccabiah Games in Israel.

Ellis {right} helped usher in a new era of NCAC field hockey as she led DePauw to back-to-back NCAC championships in its first two years in the league. The Tigers shared the crown with Denison in 2011 and secured the outright title in 2012. In two season's of NCAC competition, Ellis totaled 51 goals and dished out 19 assists for 121 total points. Ellis, who earned NCAC Tournament MVP honors in 2012, was also recognized by the NFHCA as the Great Lakes Region Player of the Year selection in 2011 and 2012. In addition to her individual accolades, Ellis was a key contributor to DPU's NCAA Tournament run in 2012 which saw the Tigers become the first team in conference history to advance to the national semifinals where they were upended by eventual national champion Tufts, 2-0.

The North Coast Athletic Conference is celebrating its 30th playing season by selecting All-Decade teams in nearly every championship sport. Players from the first 10 years of play were selected in 1993-94, while players who competed from 1993-2002 were named to the 20th Anniversary All-Decade team. All current head coaches were asked to vote, as were some former coaches and administrators.

In the past decade, six different squads have earned at least a share of an NCAC field hockey championship, led by Wittenberg and Wooster, which have each accumulated four a piece. The decade opened with tri-champions in 2003 (Oberlin, Wittenberg & Wooster), followed by outright titles for Wittenberg in 2004, Oberlin in 2005 and Wooster in 2006. Tri-champions were again crowned in 2007 (Kenyon, Wittenberg & Wooster), while Wooster won the outright title in 2008 and shared the honor with Wittenberg in 2009. Wittenberg secured the outright title in 2010, leading to a shared title between Denison and DePauw in 2011 and DPU's outright title in 2012.

NCAC All-Decade Field Hockey Teams