NCAC 30th Anniversary Men's Golf All-Decade Team Announced

NCAC 30th Anniversary Men's Golf All-Decade Team

Ohio Wesleyan's Jeff Nieman and Wittenberg's Craig Osterbrock head an impressive list of standout players  named to the North Coast Athletic Conference's 30th Anniversary All-Decade men's golf team. Nieman and Osterbrock were the only two athletes on the list to win three of the NCAC's two major awards during the last decade of competition.

Nieman {left} was a four-time All-NCAC performer, earning second-team laurels in 2006, followed by three-straight appearances on the first team from 2007-09. He was the recipient of the NCAC's Dick Gordin Award  in 2008 and '09 to go along with winning the Bob Nye Award in 2009. From 2008-10, the Gordin award was awarded to the overall medalist in the conference's four-tournament championship format, while the Nye award was awarded to the winner of the year's final tournament. To go along with his NCAC accolades, Nieman was also selected to the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) PING All-America Team four times in his career, including earning first-team citations in 2007 and '09.

Osterbrock {right}, who earned All-NCAC first-team laurels from 2010-12, was the Bob Nye Award winner in both 2011 and '12, and also collected the Dick Gordin Award in 2012. Since 2011, the Gordin award has been awarded based off of a coaches' vote, while the Nye award is distributed to the overall medalist of the two-tournament championship format. He was also named to the GCAA All-Great Lakes Region first team from 2010-12 and was a third-team selection on the GCAA PING All-America team in 2010 and '11. Osterbrock was also named a GCAA All-America Scholar in 2012 and '13.

In addition to Nieman and Osterbrock, there were two additional former Ohio Wesleyan players selected to the all-decade team that were three-time All-NCAC first-team performers in the last 10 years, including Jessie Chiero (2007, 09-10) and Justin Schroeder (2004-06). Chiero earned the Nye award in 2008 and the Gordin award in 2010, while Schroeder won the Nye award in 2005 and the Gordin award in 2006. From 2004-07, the Gordin award was awarded based off of a coaches' vote, while the Nye award was distributed to the overall champion medalist.

Wittenberg junior Alex Andrews (Kirtland, OH/Gilmour Academy) is the only current student-athlete named to the all-decade squad. Andrews was a first-team All-NCAC performer in 2012 and '13 to go along with sweeping both the Nye and Gordin awards last spring.

Three different schools hoisted the conference championship trophy in the last 10 years. Ohio Wesleyan won back-to-back titles from 2004-05 and strung together three more titles from 2007-09. Allegheny interrupted the Bishops run by winning the league title in 2006. Wittenberg is the four-time defending conference champion as the Tigers have stood atop the conference standings from 2010-13.

The North Coast Athletic Conference is celebrating its 30th playing season by selecting All-Decade teams in nearly every championship sport. Players from the first 10 years of play were selected in 1993-94, while players who competed from 1993-2002 were named to the 20th Anniversary All-Decade team. All current head coaches were asked to vote, as were some former coaches and administrators.

Founded in 1983, the North Coast Athletic Conference currently consists of 10 academically selective NCAA Division III colleges and universities - Allegheny College, Denison University, DePauw University, Hiram College, Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Wabash College, Wittenberg University and the College of Wooster along with affiliate member Earlham College (field hockey). The NCAC sponsors 23 championship sports, 11 for men and 12 for women.