Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC All-Decade Indoor Track & Field Teams

NCAC 30th Anniversary Indoor Track & Field All-Decade Teams

Wabash's Jake Waterman and Allegheny's Lauren Butler highlight a list of stellar student-athletes named to the North Coast Athletic Conference's 30th Anniversary men's and women's Indoor Track & Field all-decade teams.

Waterman {left} is the only men's student-athlete on the all-decade team to capture an individual title in the same event in four consecutive years at the NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships. He topped the field in the 800-meter run from 2010-13 and still holds the league record in the event after breaking the tape in 1:51.86 at the 2012 NCAC Championships. In addition to his four consecutive league titles in the 800, Waterman captured the national championship in the event in 2013 after crossing the finish line first with a time of 1:50.30. Prior to his NCAA title in 2013, Waterman posted back-to-back national runner-up finishes in the 800 in 2011 and 2012.

In addition to Waterman, two former male student-athletes named to the 30th Anniversary all-decade team were two-time NCAC Athlete of the Year award winners. Joe Rumschlag, a 2005 graduate of Wittenberg, garnered the league's Field Athlete of the Year award in 2004 and 2005 after winning the long jump title in consecutive years, while 2010 Ohio Wesleyan graduate David Burke was also a two-time winner of the Field Athlete of the Year award after winning triple jump titles in 2008 and 2010.

Three other standouts on the men's all-decade team were three-time NCAC individual event champions in the last 10 years, including Ohio Wesleyan's Silas Jolliff in the 200-meter dash (2010, 12-13), Denison's Dee Salukombo in the 3,000-meter run (2010-13) and Wabash's Matt Knox in the pole vault (2010-11, 13).

Butler {right} earned her spot on the women's 30th Anniversary all-decade team after earning four-straight league titles in the shot put, also making her the only selection on the women's list to win the same event at the NCAC Indoor Track & Field Championships four years in a row in the last decade. She earned the top spot on the shot put podium from 2009-12, setting the NCAC's current benchmark in the event in 2011 with a heave of 43'02.25". Butler's performances in the shot put were recognized by league coaches as she was awarded the NCAC's Female Field Athlete of the Year award from 2010-12.

Emily Pfeufer, a 2008 graduate of Allegheny, was also a three-time NCAC Athlete of the Year honoree in the last decade. She was bestowed the Field Athlete of the Year award from 2006-08 after earning three-straight conference titles in the triple jump. Pfeufer still owns the league record in the triple jump after registering a leap of 37'09.50" at the 2007 Championships.

In addition, three women on the 30th Anniversary all-decade team were two-time NCAC Athlete of the Year award winners. Ashley Shaffer, a 2007 Ohio Wesleyan graduate and current assistant coach at Denison, was a three-time league champion in the 400-meter dash (2005-07) and earned the Sprint/Hurdle Athlete of the Year award in 2005 and 2006.

Two current student-athletes who have been named to the women's all-decade team are both two-time defending Athlete of the Year honorees - Denison senior Tiffany Davis for sprint and hurdle events and Oberlin senior Molly Martorella for middle and long distance events.

Davis is the two-time defending league champion in both the 60- and 200-meter dash events and is the only student-athlete on the all-decade team to earn the distinction in two different events. She currently owns the league record in both events after posting a time of 7.85 in the 60 and a time of 25.63 in the 200, both at the 2012 Championships.

Martorella, who was selected to the all-decade team for the one-mile run, earned the league title in the event in 2012 after breaking the tape with a record-setting time of 4:58.32. She is also a two-time NCAC champion in the 3,000-meter run (2012-13) and the defending conference champion in the 5,000-meter run.

Three different men's teams have claimed NCAC indoor track & field titles in the last 10 years. Allegheny opened the last decade with four-straight titles from 2004-07, followed by Ohio Wesleyan's run of three-straight crowns from 2008-10 and finally Wabash is currently the three-time defending league champion.

On the women's side, Denison won the decade's first title in 2004, followed by back-to-back titles from Allegheny in 2005-06 and Ohio Wesleyan in 2007-08. The 2009 title was shared between Oberlin and Ohio Wesleyan, while the Battling Bishops are currently the seven-time defending league champions after again topping the conference field from 2010-13.

The North Coast Athletic Conference is celebrating its 30th playing season by selecting All-Decade teams in nearly every championship sport. Players from the first 10 years of play were selected in 1993-94, while players who competed from 1993-2002 were named to the 20th Anniversary All-Decade team. All current head coaches were asked to vote, as were some former coaches and administrators.

Founded in 1983, the North Coast Athletic Conference currently consists of 10 academically selective NCAA Division III colleges and universities - Allegheny College, Denison University, DePauw University, Hiram College, Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Wabash College, Wittenberg University and the College of Wooster along with affiliate member Earlham College (field hockey). The NCAC sponsors 23 championship sports, 11 for men and 12 for women.


NCAC All-Decade Indoor Track & Field Teams



1984-93 (Men)

1984-93 (Women)