NCAC Men's Soccer All-Decade Teams


NCAC 30th Anniversary Men's Soccer All-Decade Team

The North Coast Athletic Conference's 30th Anniversary All-Decade men's soccer team is highlighted by four student-athletes who garnered Player of the Year honors in back-to-back years, including Wittenberg's Matt Borland '08, Wooster's Brian Conaway '05, Kenyon's Jeremy Fischer '08 and Ohio Wesleyan's Tyler Wall '10.

Wall {left} put together one of the most successful careers over the last decade as he is one of only two players on the list to earn first-team All-NCAC honors four years in a row in the decade. He capped off his career with back-to-back Offensive Player of the Year awards in 2009 and '10. During his four-year career with the Battling Bishops, Wall was one of the top offensive players in the league as he totaled 115 points (45g, 25a), including a 43-point outburst in 2010 when he netted 19 goals and dished out five assists. Tyler's younger brother Travis Wall '11, the 2011 NCAC Offensive Player of the Year, is also a member of the Men's Soccer All-Decade team, while his older sister, Sarah Wall '05, highlighted the NCAC 30th Anniversary All-Decade Team in women's soccer.

Borland {right}, a four-time All-NCAC selection, capped off his career at Wittenberg by being named the NCAC Offensive Player of the Year in 2007 and '08. The two-time All-NSCAA All-American selection was the Tigers' top offensive player during his four-year career as he netted 27 goals and dished out 29 assists for 83 total points. During his four year career, Wittenberg compiled an overall record of 42-22-12, which included back-to-back appearances in the NCAC Tournament in 2007 and '08 and an at-large invitation to the NCAA Division III Tournament in 2008.

Conaway {left} was one of the top players in the league at the beginning of the last decade as he was an All-NCAC first-team selection in 2003, '04 and '05, and earned the NCAC Offensive Player of the Year honors in 2004 and '05. Conaway totaled 80 points (33g, 14a) in three years of competition last decade and was a key contributor in Wooster's back-to-back NCAC titles in 2003 and '04. From 2003 to '05 Conaway and the Fighting Scots posted an overall record of 34-9-7, including an impressive mark of 20-5-2 against NCAC opponents.

Fischer {right} shined on the defensive side of the ball during his career with the Lords as he was twice named NCAC Defensive Player of the Year in 2008 and '09. Fischer experienced his most success on the field with Kenyon in his sophomore season as the 2007 Lords squad captured the outright NCAC title with a record of 7-1-1 against NCAC foes. Although he spent the majority of his career as the leader of the KC defensive unit, Fischer also manufactured some offensive production for the Lords with 10 career goals and four career assists for 24 total points.

In addition to Wall, Kenyon's Felix Hoffman '10 and Allegheny's Eric Sloan '07 were also four-time All-NCAC selections in the last decade. Hoffman, the 2007 Newcomer of the Year, was a four-time first-team honoree, while Sloan, the 2004 Newcomer of the Year and '07 Defensive Player of the Year, earned first-team laurels in '04, '06 & '07, and was a second-team selection in '05.

Ohio Wesleyan proved to be the NCAC's premier program over the last decade of play as the Battling Bishops won a share of eight NCAC titles (2004, '05, '06, '08, '09, '10, '11 & '12), were crowned NCAC Tournament champions on five different occasions (2003, '05, '07, '08 & '10) and got to the pinnacle of NCAA Div. III men's soccer in 2011 as national champions. The Battling Bishops enjoyed their success last decade under the leadership of legendary head coach Jay Martin, who is the winningest coach in college men's soccer history (all divisions) with 621 wins. Martin collected 28 percent of his career wins in the last 10 years as the Battling Bishops posted an overall record of 174-27-21 from 2003-12.

Founded in 1983, the North Coast Athletic Conference currently consists of 10 academically selective NCAA Division III colleges and universities - Allegheny College, Denison University, DePauw University, Hiram College, Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Wabash College, Wittenberg University and the College of Wooster along with affiliate member Earlham College (field hockey). The NCAC sponsors 23 championship sports, 11 for men and 12 for women.

NCAC All-Decade Men's Soccer Teams