2013 NCAC Softball Tournament

2013 NCAC Softball Tournament Champions

Allegheny College

Friday, May 3rd Saturday, May 4th

#4 Allegheny 8, #1 DePauw 0 - Box

Wittenberg 6, DePauw 5 - Box

#2 Wittenberg 4, #3 Kenyon 1 - Box

Wittenberg 7, Allegheny 4 - Box

Allegheny 8, Wittenberg 1 - Box

Allegheny 3, Wittenberg 2 - Box
DePauw 6, Kenyon 1 - Box  
History  -- Stats

2013 All-Tournament Team

Jamie Samuel, Kenyon
Haleigh Chasteen, DePauw
Sammi Bell, DePauw
Rachel Ross, Wittenberg
Kaitie Harrison, Wittenberg
Laura Rose, Wittenberg
Ashlee Wright, Wittenberg
Nicole Rodi, Allegheny
Maureen Pallone, Allegheny
Belle Mazurik, Allegheny

MVP: Caitlin Nealer, Allegheny

Allegheny College (10-6, 21-18) captured its fourth North Coast Athletic Conference softball tournament championship
after defeating Wittenberg (10-6, 23-13), 3-2, in game 7 of the 2013 NCAC Softball Tournament on Saturday in
Greencastle, Indiana. Game 7 was needed after the Tigers earned a 7-4 victory over the Gators in game 6. In game
7, Allegheny jumped out to a 3-0 lead through four innings and held on for the one-run victory, as Caitlin Nealer (New
Kensington, PA/Valley) collected her third win of the weekend.

The Gators opened the NCAC Tournament with an 8-0 victory over top-seeded DePauw (13-3, 22-17) to advance in the
winner’s bracket where they defeated Wittenberg, 8-1, to advance to the championship round. Wittenberg defeated thirdseeded
Kenyon (10-6, 22-15), 4-1, in the opening round before falling to Allegheny in the winners bracket. The Tigers
then defeated DePauw, 6-5, to advance to the championship round.

Nealer was named the Most Valuable Player of the NCAC Tournament, joining Gator teammates Nicole Rodi (Chalfont,
PA/Central Bucks South), Maureen Pallone (New Kensington, PA/Valley) and Belle Mazurik (Saegertown, PA/
Saegertown) on the All-Tournament team. In four games, Nealer posted a 3-1 record in the circle, with a 1.08 ERA allowing
just four earned runs while striking out 30 and holding opponents to a .198 batting average in 26 innings of work.

Four Wittenberg players were honored by being named to the All-Tournament team as well, including Rachel Ross
(Westerville, OH/South), Kaitie Harrison (Springfield, OH/Kenton Ridge), Laura Rose (Riverside, OH/Stebbins)
and Ashlee Wright (Kettering, OH/Fairmont). Also, named to the All Tournament team were DePauw’s Haleigh Chasteen
(Avon, IN/Avon) and Sammi Bell (Columbia, MO/Rock Bridge Senior), and Kenyon’s Jamie Samuel (Malibu,

The Gators will travel to Angola, Indiana on Thursday, May 9 to play John Carroll (26-11) in the opening round of the
NCAA Division III Trine Regional. First pitch is set for 2:00 p.m. With a victory over John Carroll, Allegheny would move
on to game 8 on Friday at 4:00 against either Thomas More (24-17) or Capital (34-10). Should the Gators lose in the
opening round, Allegheny would meet the loser of the Thomas More and Capital contest at noon on Friday.