2017 NCAC Softball Tournament



2017 NCAC Softball Tournament Champions




2017 NCAC Softball Tournament
Wittenberg University
Springfield, Ohio
May, 6-7
Wittenberg Tournament Website
Saturday, May 6th Sunday, May 7th

Game 1: #2 DePauw 4, #3 Denison 3 {Box}

Game 5: Denison 11, Wooster 1 {Box}

Game 2: #4 Wooster 4, Wittenberg 0 {Box}

Game 6: Denison 4, DePauw 3 {Box}

Game 3: DePauw 4, Wooster 3 {Box}

Game 7: DePauw 6, Denison 0 {Box}
Game 4: Denison 2, Wittenberg 0 {Box}
Day One Photo Gallery  
Tickets -- Directions -- History  -- Tournament Bracket -- Tournament Stats

All-Tournament Team

Chelsea Zang, Wittenberg
Chelsea Copley, Wooster
Jenna Kendall, Wooster
Erin Laswell, Denison
Kerry Hager, Denison
Lindsey Clemson, Denison
Charlotte Happel, Denison

Emma Baldwin, DePauw
Jordyn Fera, DePauw
Liz Getz, DePauw
Sidney Holler, DePauw 

MVP -- Gabby Smart, DePauw

DePauw (23-19) captured its third North Coast Athletic Conference softball tournament championship after defeating Denison (29-16), 6-0, in game 7 of the 2017 NCAC Softball Tournament on Sunday in Springfield, Ohio. Game 7 was needed after Denison earned a 4-3 victory over DePauw in the first championship game.

In game 7, Gabby Smart (Chicago, IL/Trinity) went 3-for-3 from the plate with a double and three RBI. Junior pitcher Emma Baldwin (Oak Park, IL/Oak Park River Forest) earned her eighth win of the season and second of the tournament after pitching a seven-inning shutout, allowing just six hits and striking out seven. With the victory, the Tigers have earned the league's automatic bid into the 2017 NCAA Division III Softball Tournament.

DePauw opened the tournament with a 4-3 victory over the Big Red in the opening round on Saturday, and advanced to the championship round after knocking off fourth-seeded Wooster (20-23), 4-3, in the winners' bracket later in the day. After losing its opener against DePauw, Denison advanced to the championship round by winning back-to-back elimination games against Wittenberg (29-7), 2-0, and the Fighting Scots, 11-1.

Gabby Smart was named the Most Valuable Player of the NCAC Tournament, joining Tiger teammates Baldwin, Jordyn Fera (Hoffman Estates, IL/Hoffman Estates)Liz Getz (Bloomington, IN/Bloomington South) and Sidney Holler (Overland Park, KS/Shawnee Mission South) on the All-Tournament team. In four games, Smart batted .500 (6-for-12) with seven RBI, 10 total bases, one home run, one run scored and slugged .833 on the weekend.

Four Denison players were named to the All-Tournament team as well, including Erin Laswell (Plainfield, IN/Plainfield)Kerry Hager (Louisville, KY/Eastern)Lindsey Clemson (Canton, OH/Jackson) and Charlotte Happel (Louisville, KY/Louisville Collegiate). Also, named to the All-Tournament team were Wooster's Chelsea Copley (Bidwell, OHRiver Valley) and Jenna Kendall (Marshallville, OH/Smithville), and Wittenberg's Chelsea Zang (Cincinnati, OH/Seton).



Tournament Preview 

The 2017 NCAC Softball Tournament is set for Friday and Saturday, May 5-6, at Wittenberg University. The Tigers earned the right to host the two-day event after winning the NCAC championship for the second time in program history.

As the top seed, Wittenberg (15-1, 29-5) meets fourth-seeded Wooster (10-6, 19-21) in the opening round of the double elimination tournament on Friday at 12:00 PM. Second-seeded DePauw (13-3, 20-18) opens the tournament on Friday morning at 10:00 AM with a showdown against third-seeded Denison (10-6, 26-14).

The double-elimination tournament continues on Friday afternoon with the winners of the days’ first two games squaring off for a slot in the championship round at 2:00 PM, while the losers of the opening-round games will meet on Friday at 4:00 PM in an elimination game, with the winner moving on to face the loser of Friday’s third game at 11:00 AM on Saturday morning to determine the final slot in the championship round. Saturday’s championship round will be played at 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM (if necessary).
Since the inception of the NCAC Softball Tournament in the 2001 season, Denison has claimed six tournament titles (2001-02, ‘06, ‘08, ‘10, ‘12). Allegheny is second with four tourney titles (2004-05, ‘07, ‘13), Hiram, DePauw and Wittenberg have each won two titles: Hiram (2009, ‘11), DePauw (2014, '15) and Wittenberg (2003, 2016).