Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2018-19 NCAC Swimming & Diving Coaches of the Year

2018-19 NCAC Swimming & Diving Coaches of the Year

CLEVELAND, OH -- Wabash's Wayne Applegate and Denison's Russ Bertram have been named Men's and Women's Diving Coaches of the Year. Wooster's Rob Harrington and DePauw's Shea Davisson have been named Men's and Women's Swimming Coaches of the Year. Both sets of awards were announced today after voting by the conference's head coaches.

Applegate earns his first Coach of the Year award after Little Giant senior Aaron Embree (Springville, IN/Bedford North Lawrence) claimed NCAC Men's Diver of the Year honors. Embree won the three-meter event at the 2019 NCAC Championships with a regional-qualifying score of 455.55 and finished third in the one-meter competition with 396.60 points. Applegate just completed his 23rd season at Wabash.

Bertam claims his third consecutive Women's Coach of the Year award in 2019 as junior Allison Fitzgerald (Grand Rapids, MI/Forest Hills Central) earned her third straight NCAC Women's Diver of the Year award. Fitzgerald swept both boards at this year's championship, posting regional qualifying scores in both events, 447.40 points on the one-meter board and 443.20 in the three-meter competition. Bertram has also earned Men's Coach of the Year honors four times (2014-17) in his six-year career at Denison.

After leading the Fighting Scots to a fifth-place finish, Harrington earned his first Men's Coach of the Year nod. Wooster accumulated 1,000 points for the first time in program history, finishing the 2019 Conference Championships with a school-record 1,013 points. The Scots had a pair of all-conference relays, headlined by the 400 freestyle relay, which logged a NCAA Div. III "B" cut and school-record time of 3:03.21. Individually, Wooster broke three school records at the NCAC Championships with senior Cameron Gelwicks' (Zionsville, IN/Zionsville Community) 1:39.19 as the leadoff leg of the Scots' all-conference 800 freestyle relay standing as an NCAA Division III Championships qualifying time. Harrington has also earned Women's Coach of the Year honors twice (2012, '17) in his 16-year career as the Fighting Scot's head coach.

Davisson earns her first Women's Coach of the Year honor after leading the Tigers to their highest point total (1,194.5) since beginning NCAC competition in the 2011-12 season. The Tigers swam four all-conference relays, recording third-place finishes in the 200, 400 and 800 freestyle relays, as well as in the 200 medley relay. Sophomore Ali Tallen (Mound, MN/Orono) led the way swimming a leg on all four All-NCAC relays. Davisson just completed her third season at the helm of the Tigers' women's program.    

Founded in 1983, the North Coast Athletic Conference consists of 10 academically selective colleges and universities - Allegheny College, Denison University, DePauw University, Hiram College, Kenyon College, Oberlin College, Ohio Wesleyan University, Wabash College, Wittenberg University and the College of Wooster along with affiliate member Earlham College (field hockey). The NCAC sponsors 23 championship sports, 11 for men and 12 for women.