Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

OWU Sweeps 2016 NCAC Outdoor T&F Titles

OWU Sweeps 2016 NCAC Outdoor T&F Titles

2016 All-NCAC Outdoor T&F Perfomers

The Ohio Wesleyan men's and women's teams swept the team titles at the 2016 NCAC Outdoor Track & Field Championships on Saturday at Denison University in Granville, Ohio.

The victory marked the OWU women's eighth-straight NCAC Outdoor title, while the men topped the team standings for the first time since 2010, snapping Wabash's streak of five straight conference crowns. 

The Bishops men, who now own eight NCAC titles all-time, edged Wabash by one-point, 210-209, while the women's team earned their league-leading 14th title all-time with 179 points to prevail over Denison (139). The one-point finish at the top of the men's standings was the closest finish at the NCAC Outdoor Track & Field Championships since Wittenberg edged Allegheny by a 133-130 margin in 1996.

Ohio Wesleyan and Wabash were followed in the men's standings by Wittenberg (87), Oberlin (75), Allegheny (70), DePauw (63), Denison (43), Wooster (33) and Kenyon (27).

In the final women's standings, OWU and Denison were followed by Oberlin (121), Allegheny (105), Wooster (78), Wittenberg (77), Kenyon (68) and DePauw (51). 

Ohio Wesleyan head coach Kris Boey and his staff collected NCAC Coach of the Year honors in both the men's and women's competition. Boey has now been named the NCAC Women's Outdoor Coach of the Year for the eighth year in a row, while the award on the men's side was his first since 2010 and his fourth all-time.

2016 Women's Athlete of the Year Award Winners

Women's Field: Aedin Brennan, Denison
Denison senior Aedin Brennan (Fairport, NY/Allendale Columbia) became just the second student-athlete in NCAC history to win the Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year award four years in a row after she won three different field events and set two NCAC records. She topped the field in the Heptathlon with an NCAC-record score of 5,008 points and also re-set the conference benchmark in the Triple Jump with a leap of 38'05.50". She also added a conference crown in the javelin (124'07.00") and finished second overall in the long jump at a distance of 17'09.00". In total, Brennan accounted for 58.5 of Denison's 139 team points over the two-day event.

Women's Sprint/Hurdles: Ajai Brooks, Denison
Denison freshman Ajai Brooks (Washington, D.C./Washington Latin Public Charter School) earned the Sprinter/Hurdler Athlete of the Year award after she broke the conference record in both the 100-meter dash (12.07) and 200-meter dash (24.38). 

Women's Distance: Abbey Warth, Ohio Wesleyan
Ohio Wesleyan senior Abbey Warth (Massillon, OH/Tuslaw) picked up the Distance Athlete of the Year award in her final conference meet after collecting NCAC titles in the 800-meter run (2:15.77) and the 1,500-meter run (4:38.47). She also ran the anchor leg on the Bishops' third-place 4x400-meter relay that finished in 3:59.09.

Women's Coach of the Year: Kris Boey, Ohio Wesleyan

Aedin Brennan Ajai Brooks Abbey Warth Kris Boey


2016 Men's Athlete of the Year Award Winners 

Men's Field: Marcus Dozier, DePauw
DePauw senior Marcus Dozier (South Bend, IN/Riley) earned the NCAC Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year for the second year in a row after earning conference titles in the Discus (162'09.00") and Shot Put (51'02.25").

Men's Sprint/Hurdles: Adam Turner, Ohio Wesleyan
After posting two event titles and another second-place finish, Ohio Wesleyan senior Adam Turner (Clyde, OH/Clyde) was named the 2016 NCAC Sprint/Hurdles Athlete of the Year. He broke the tape individually in the 400-meter dash (48.85) and ran the anchor leg on the 4x400-meter relay that clinched the team championship with a winning time of 3:19.65. He also finished second in the 200-meter dash with a time of 21.99.

Men's Distance: Geno Arthur, Oberlin
Oberlin senior Geno Arthur (Camarillo, CA/Rio Mesa) became the first Yeomen to earn the NCAC Outdoor Distance Athlete of the Year award since 1997 after he broke the tape in the 10,000-meter run on Friday night with a time of 31.15.60, and then returned to the track on Saturday to post a winning time of 14:59.72 in the 5,000-meter run.

Men's Coach of the Year: Kris Boey, Ohio Wesleyan 

Marcus Dozier Adam Turner Geno Arthur Kris Boey