Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yeowomen Win 1st Outdoor Title in Program History

Yeowomen Win 1st Outdoor Title in Program History

Wabash won its sixth league title and the Oberlin Yeowomen won their first championship at the 2017 NCAC Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Saturday at DePauw University’s Blackstock Stadium in Greencastle, Indiana. The Yeowomen who swept both the Indoor and Outdoor Championships cruised to the women’s title with 260 points followed by Ohio Wesleyan in second-place with 185.5 points, while Wabash edged OWU for the title by a margin of 196-177. 

Trailing Oberlin and Ohio Wesleyan in the final women’s standings was Allegheny (95), Wooster (79), Wittenberg (65.5), Kenyon (52), DePauw (42) and Denison (40).

2017 Women's Athlete of the Year Award Winners

Women's Field: Ana Richardson, Oberlin
Oberlin junior Ana Richardson (Eugene, OR/South Eugene) was named the NCAC Athlete of the Year for field events after winning both the hammer and discus throws. Richardson’s winning toss in the hammer was 160’04” and took home the discus in 142”05”. Richardson also placed fifth in the shot put (39’09.25”) and seventh in the javelin (104’05”). 

Women's Sprint/Hurdles: Lilah Drafts-Johnson, Oberlin
Oberlin junior Lilah Drafts-Johnson (Melrose, MA/Melrose) collected the Athlete of the Year award for sprint and hurdle events, sweeping the award at both the indoor and outdoor championships, after winning the 400 and 200-meter dashes, crossing the line in 57.02 and 25.20 respectively. Drafts-Johnson also ran a leg on the winning 4x100-meter (49.09) and 4x400-meter relays (3:58.57). 

Women's Distance/Middle Distance: Sarah Fowler, Ohio Wesleyan
The Athlete of the Year award for distance and middle distance events went to Ohio Wesleyan senior Sarah Fowler (Mount Vernon, OH/Fredericktown) after winning three individual events. Fowler won the 1,500-meter run in 4:42.91, came back to win the 5,000-meter run in 17:55.76 and captured the 3,000-meter steeplechase, crossing the line in 11:17.35. 

Women's Coach of the Year: Ray Appenheimer, Oberlin