Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC Weekly Release (11-3-14) - Volleyball

NCAC Weekly Release (11-3-14) - Volleyball

Complete .PDF

WITTENBERG (8-0, 24-3) has won its 20th North Coast Athletic Conference volleyball championship after finishing the season with a perfect mark against league foes for the fourth year in a row and the 17th time overall. Allegheny is second all-time with five titles (1985, 88-91), while Hiram, Kenyon and Ohio Wesleyan have each accumulated two titles. Wooster earned the inaugural conference championship in 1984.

DEPAUW (7-1, 24-9) finished second in the final standings, while HIRAM (6-2, 22-6) and OHIO WESLEYAN (5-3, 16-9) rounded out the top-four in places three and four, respectively. DENISON (4-4, 13-12) finished fifth, followed by ALLEGHENY (3-5, 18-12) in sixth, OBERLIN (2-6, 12-17) in seventh, WOOSTER (1-7, 7-20) in eighth and KENYON (0-8, 6-24) in ninth.

As league champions, Wittenberg has earned the No. 1 seed and hosting rights for the 2014 NCAC Volleyball Tournament for the ninth year in a row. The 12-match, two-day event will be held at Pam Evans Smith Arena in Springfield, Ohio, November 7-8. The NCAC Volleyball Tournament is a top-eight, two-court format, with quarterfinal matches on Friday and semifinal, consolation semifinal and final place matches being played on Saturday.

In the 4:00 p.m. quarterfinal matches on Friday, No. 3 Hiram takes on No. 6 Allegheny and No. 4 Ohio Wesleyan squares off against No. 5 Denison. The 7:00 p.m. quarterfinal matches will feature No. 2 DePauw taking on No. 7 Oberlin and No. 1 Wittenberg clashing with No. 8 Wooster.

On Saturday, consolation semifinal matches will be contested at 10:00 a.m., semifinal matches at 12:00 p.m., seventh- and fifth-place matches at 3:30 p.m., the third-place match at 5:30 p.m. and the championship match at 7:30 p.m.

In addition, the NCAC Senior Recognition Ceremony and Announcement of the 2014 All-NCAC Teams will take place immediately following the semifinal matches on Saturday afternoon.

TOURNEY NOTES: The tournament winner receives the NCAC’s automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament ... Wittenberg is the seven-time defending tournament champion and has won 19 NCAC Tournaments overall ... Allegheny follows the Tigers with five tourney championships, including four-straight between 1988-91 ... Kenyon (1986-87) and Ohio Wesleyan (1994, ‘96) each hold a pair of titles, while Hiram won the title in 2006 and Wooster earned the inaugural tournament championship in 1984 ... Wittenberg cruised through the tournament bracket a year ago with three straight 3-0 wins, knocking off Allegheny in the quarterfinals, DePauw in the semifinals and Hiram in the championship match.