Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wittenberg Wins 10th-Straight NCAC Tournament Title

Wittenberg Wins 10th-Straight NCAC Tournament Title

Top-seeded Wittenberg (21-5) captured its conference-leading 22nd NCAC Volleyball Tournament Title on Saturday, November 5th, with a 3-0 victory over second-seeded DePauw (24-5) in the championship match at Pam Evans Smith Arena in Springfield, Ohio. 

The Wittenberg Tigers booked their ticket to the championship match with a 3-1 win over eighth-seeded Oberlin (7-20) in the quarterfinal round on Friday night and a straight-set victory over fourth-seeded Ohio Wesleyan (19-13) in the semifinal round on Saturday afternoon. The DePauw Tigers marched to the championship match with a 3-0 win over seventh-seeded Wooster (18-11) in the quarters on Friday night and another 3-0 win over sixth-seeded Denison (12-17) in the semis on Saturday.

As tournament champions, Wittenberg receives the NCAC's automatic bid into the 2016 NCAA Division III Volleyball Tournament.

2016 NCAC Volleyball All-Tournament Team

 Leah Reinfranck, Denison
Iris Anderson, Ohio Wesleyan
Morgan Stearley, DePauw
Elisabeth Wilson, DePauw
Aubrey Cox, Wittenberg
Karen Wildemann, Wittenberg 

MVP - Maddie Fischer, Wittenberg

Wittenberg's Tournament Website
Friday, Nov. 4 (All matches @ Wittenberg University) Saturday, Nov. 5 (All matches @ Wittenberg University)

Quarterfinal Matches
Match C: #6 Denison 3, #3 Kenyon 1 {21-25, 26-24, 25-23, 25-19}
Match B: #4 Ohio Wesleyan 3, #5 Hiram 0 {25-18, 25-17, 25-13}
Match A: #1 Wittenberg 3, #8 Oberlin 1 {25-14, 25-11, 22-25, 25-19}
Match D: #2 DePauw 3, #7 Wooster 0 {25-20, 25-19, 25-14}

* - Click on set scores to view box

Day One Photo Gallery

Consolation Semifinal Matches
Match I: Hiram 3, Oberlin 0 {25-23, 25-10, 26-24}
Match J: Kenyon 3, Wooster 0 {25-16, 27-25, 25-23}

Semifinal Matches
Match E: Wittenberg 3, Ohio Wesleyan 1{23-25, 25-20, 25-11, 25-16}
Match F: DePauw 3, Denison 0 {25-14, 25-17, 25-10}

Senior Recognition Ceremony and Announcement of All-NCAC Teams
 (following semifinal matches)

Seventh-Place Match
Match L: Wooster 3, Oberlin 1 {25-16, 25-18, 16-25, 25-16}

Fifth-Place Match
Match K: Kenyon 3, Hiram 1 {26-24, 28-26, 23-25, 25-23}

Third-Place Match
Match H: Ohio Wesleyan 3, Denison 1 {25-16, 13-25, 25-10, 25-14}

Championship Match
Match G: Wittenberg 3, DePauw 0 {25-18, 25-20, 25-22}

Tournament Bracket -- History -- Tournament Stats -- Tickets -- Directions


NCAC Weekly Volleyball Release - (10/31/16)

Wittenberg (8-0, 18-5) has won its 11th-straight and 22nd North Coast Athletic Conference volleyball championship after finishing the season with a perfect mark against league foes for the sixth year in a row and the 19th time overall.  

Allegheny is second all-time with five league titles (1985, 88-91), while Hiram, Kenyon and Ohio Wesleyan have each accumulated two titles. Wooster earned the inaugural conference championship in 1984.  

DePauw (7-1, 22-4) finished second in the regular season standings, while Kenyon (5-3, 16-11) and Ohio Wesleyan (5-3, 17-11) shared the third position. There was another tie for the fifth spot between Hiram (4-4, 19-7) and Denison (4-4, 11-15), while the final three slots were occupied by Wooster (2-6, 17-9), Oberlin (1-7, 7-17) and Allegheny (0-8, 9-16). Both ties were broken via conference policy for tournament seeding purposes only. 

As league champions, Wittenberg has earned the No. 1 seed and hosting rights for the 2016 NCAC Volleyball Tournament for the 11th year in a row. The 12-match, two-day event will be held at Pam Evans Smith Arena in Springfield, Ohio, November 4-5. The NCAC Volleyball Tournament is a top-eight, two-court format, with quarterfinal matches on Friday and semifinal, consolation semifinal and final place matches being played on Saturday. 

In the 4:00 p.m. quarterfinal matches on Friday, No. 3 Kenyon takes on No. 6 Denison and No. 4 Ohio Wesleyan squares off against No. 5 Hiram. The 7:00 p.m. quarterfinal matches will feature No. 2 DePauw taking on No. 7 Wooster and No. 1 Wittenberg clashing with No. 8 Oberlin. 

On Saturday, consolation semifinal matches will be contested at 10:00 a.m., semifinal matches at 12:00 p.m., seventh- and fifth-place matches at 3:30 p.m., the third-place match at 5:30 p.m. and the championship match at 7:30 p.m. 

In addition, the NCAC Senior Recognition Ceremony and Announcement of the 2016 All-NCAC Teams will take place immediately following the semifinal matches on Saturday afternoon. 

TOURNEY NOTES: The tournament winner receives the NCAC’s automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament ... Wittenberg is the nine-time defending tournament champion and has won 21 NCAC Tournaments overall ... Allegheny follows the Tigers with five tourney championships, including four-straight between 1988-91 ... Kenyon (1986-87) and Ohio Wesleyan (1994, ‘96) each hold a pair of titles, while Hiram won the title in 2006 and Wooster earned the inaugural tournament championship in 1984... Wittenberg cruised through the tournament bracket a year ago, knocking off Allegheny, 3-0, in the quarterfinals, Hiram, 3-0, in the semifinals and DePauw, 3-1, in the championship match.