Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wittenberg Secures 23rd NCAC VB Tourney Title

Wittenberg secured its league-leading 23rd NCAC Volleyball Tournament title with a 3-0 win over DePauw
Wittenberg secured its league-leading 23rd NCAC Volleyball Tournament title with a 3-0 win over DePauw

Top-seeded Wittenberg (22-2) captured its conference-leading 23rd NCAC Volleyball Tournament Title on Saturday, November 4th, with a 3-0 victory over second-seeded DePauw (220-7) in the championship match at Pam Evans Smith Arena in Springfield, Ohio. 

In the new eight-team, single-elimination NCAC volleyball tournament format, the Wittenberg Tigers received a double bye into the semifinals where they knocked off fifth-seeded Denison (15-14), 3-0, thanks to a 12-kill and 10-dig effort from senior outside hitter Maddie Fischer (Minerva, OH/Minerva). Fischer added 14 more kills in the championship match over DePauw, while sophomore middle blocker Aubrey Cox (Tipp City, OH/Tippecanoe) was crowned the Tournament MVP after finishing the two-match stretch with 18 kills and just three hitting errors in 34 total attempts for an eye-popping .441 hitting percentage. Cox also led the Tigers with seven total blocks on the day, with four against Denison and three more against DePauw.

As tournament champions, Wittenberg receives the NCAC's automatic bid into the 2017 NCAA Division III Volleyball Tournament.

2017 NCAC Women’s Volleyball All-Tournament Team 

Kristin Thewes, Denison
Brianna La Croix, Ohio Wesleyan
Suzanne Peters, DePauw
Morgan Stearley, DePauw
Kennedey Schmidt, Wittenberg
Maddie Fischer, Wittenberg 

Tournament MVP – Aubrey Cox, Wittenberg

Wittenberg's Tournament Website
Friday, Nov. 3 (All matches @ Wittenberg University) Saturday, Nov. 4 (All matches @ Wittenberg University)

First-Round Matches
Match A: #5 Kenyon 3, #8 Oberlin 0 {25-17, 25-16, 25-18}
Match B: #6 Hiram 3, #7 Wooster 2 {21-25, 20-25, 25-21, 25-17, 15-12}

Senior Recognition Ceremony and Announcement of All-NCAC Teams
                               (following 3:00 PM matches)

Second-Round Matches
Match C: #4 Denison 3, Kenyon 1 {25-23, 21-25, 25-23, 26-24}
Match D: #3 Ohio Wesleyan 3, Hiram 1 {25-22, 18-25, 25-19, 25-21}

* - Click on set scores to view box

Semifinal Matches
Match E: #1 Wittenberg 3, Denison 0 {25-15, 25-22, 25-19}
Match F: #2 DePauw 3, Ohio Wesleyan, 0 {25-20, 25-18, 25-21}

Championship Match
Match G: Wittenberg 3, DePauw 0 {25-23, 28-26, 25-18}

Tournament Bracket -- History -- Tournament Stats -- Tickets -- Directions


Complete .PDF

Wittenberg (8-0) has won its 12th-straight and league-leading 23rd North Coast Athletic Conference volleyball championship after finishing the season with a perfect mark against league foes for the seventh year in a row and the 20th time overall.  

Allegheny is second all-time with five league titles (1985, 88-91), while Hiram, Kenyon and Ohio Wesleyan have each accumulated two titles. Wooster earned the inaugural conference championship in 1984.  

DePauw (7-1) finished second in the regular season standings, followed by Ohio Wesleyan (6-2), Denison (5-3), Kenyon (4-4), Hiram (3-5), Wooster (2-6), Oberlin (1-7) and Allegheny (0-8).

As league champions, Wittenberg has earned the No. 1 seed and hosting rights for the 2017 NCAC Volleyball Tournament for the 12th year in a row. The two-day, seven-match, single-elimination tournament will be held at Pam Evans Smith Arena in Springfield, Ohio, November 3-4. 

In the first-round matches at 3:00 p.m. on Friday, Match A features No. 5 Kenyon and No. 8 Oberlin, while Match B is a matchup between No. 6 Hiram and No. 7 Wooster. In the 7:30 p.m. time slot on Friday night, Match C will feature No. 4 Denison against the Kenyon/Oberlin winner, and Match D will pit No. 3 Ohio Wesleyan against the Hiram/Wooster winner.

On Saturday, semifinal matches will be contested at 11:00 a.m., with the championship match set for 5:00 p.m. In the semifinal matches, No. 1 Wittenberg will meet the winner of Match C and No. 2 DePauw will square off against the winner of Match D.

In addition, the NCAC Senior Recognition Ceremony and Announcement of the 2017 All-NCAC Teams will take place immediately following the 3:00 p.m. matches on Friday. 

TOURNEY NOTES: The tournament winner receives the NCAC’s automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament ... Wittenberg is the 10-time defending tournament champion and has won 22 NCAC Tournaments overall ... Allegheny follows the Tigers with five tourney championships, including four-straight between 1988-91 ... Kenyon (1986-87) and Ohio Wesleyan (1994, ‘96) each hold a pair of titles, while Hiram won the title in 2006 and Wooster earned the inaugural tournament championship in 1984... Wittenberg maneuvered its way through the tournament bracket a year ago by knocking off Oberlin, 3-1, in the quarterfinals, Ohio Wesleyan, 3-1, in the semifinals and DePauw, 3-0, in the championship match.