Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

NCAC 20th Anniversary Volleyball All-Decade Team Announced

NCAC 20th Anniversary Volleyball All-Decade Team

Wittenberg’s Monica McDonald and Sarah Yuskewich head a list of stellar student-athletes named to the North Coast Athletic Conference’s 20th Anniversary volleyball team. McDonald and Yuskewich are the only two members of the squad still actively competing. Thus far this season, the pair have led the Tigers to a perfect 8-0 conference record and the number one seed heading into the annual NCAC Tournament.

McDonald has been honored as an All-NCAC first-team selection as both a freshman and a sophomore. Last fall, she paced the conference with 668 kills over 144 games (4.64 kpg). She was named the league’s Newcomer of the Year in 2001. Yuskewich, named to the All-NCAC honorable mention team as a freshman in 2001, is one of eight former NCAC Players of the Year represented on the 11-person squad. She earned the honor last fall after leading the conference in assists with 2,125 over 143 games (14.86 apg). That total is the NCAA Division III record for assists with the 30-point scoring format.

Last fall, the duo led the Tigers to their sixth consecutive NCAC championship, and eighth in the past 10 years, and to a berth in the NCAA Division III Tournament for the seventh straight season. Wittenberg advanced to the quarterfinal round of the tournament for the first time.

In all, Wittenberg leads the way with eight players on the 20th anniversary squad. 1993 NCAC Player of the Year Beth Green is joined by Tiffany Keller, Teresa Murphy, Beth Nowicki, Dawn Reinhart, and Kim Woodring to round out the Tiger picks. Reinhart is the only four-time, first-team member listed on the All-decade team. She began her career as the Newcomer of the Year in 1995 and capped it as the Player of the Year four years later as a senior. Nowicki and Woodring shared Player of the Year honors in 1997, leading Wittenberg to the first of six straight NCAC crowns. Woodring was also Player of the Year in 1995. Keller earned three All-NCAC nods and was named Player of the Year as a junior in 2001. Murphy was a four-time all-league pick, making three first-team appearances.

Ohio Wesleyan, the only other team to win an NCAC volleyball championship between 1993 and 2002 placed two athletes on the squad: Sheila Gisbrecht and Carrie Kraly. Kraly was voted to the all-NCAC team in each of her four playing seasons, culminating in two straight first-team nods. She led the Battling Bishops to their second NCAC title and earned Player of the Year honors in 1996. Gisbrecht was named the conference’s top player in 1994 after helping OWU to their first North Coast championship.

Denison’s Jamie Salay rounds out the All-Decade selections. She made three consecutive appearances on the All-NCAC first team between 1995 and 1997.

The North Coast Athletic Conference will be announcing 20th Anniversary teams in all 22 sports during the 2003-04 academic year. The NCAC was founded in 1983 and began competition in the fall of 1984. The North Coast’s commitment to equity, its broad base of athletic programs and an unwavering insistence on excellence in academics has served as a model for conferences throughout the country.

The NCAC’s 20th Anniversary teams were selected in each sport through balloting by present and former coaches and administrators. Athletes who participated in conference competition between the fall of 1993 through the spring of 2003 were eligible for selection.