Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2013 NCAC Volleyball Tournament



2013 NCAC Volleyball Tournament Champions

Friday, Nov. 8 (All matches @ Wittenberg University) Saturday, Nov. 9 (All matches @ Wittenberg University)

Quarterfinal Matches
Match B: #4 DePauw 3, #5 Oberlin 0 - Box Score
Match C: #3 Denison 3, #6 Wooster 1- Box Score
Match A: #1 Wittenberg 3, #8 Allegheny 0- Box Score
Match D: #2 Hiram 3, #7 Kenyon 0- Box Score

Consolation Semifinal Matches
Match I: Oberlin 3, Allegheny 0- Box Score
Match J: Kenyon 3, Wooster 0 - Box Score

Semifinal Matches
Match E: Wittenberg 3, DePauw 0- Box Score
Match F: Hiram 3, Denison 1- Box Score

Seventh-Place Match
Match L: Wooster 3, Allegheny 1- Box Score

Fifth-Place Match
Match K: Kenyon 3, Oberlin 2- Box Score

Third-Place Match
Match H: DePauw 3, Denison 0- Box Score

Championship Match
Match G: Wittenberg 3, Hiram 0- Box Score

 Tournament Stats

2013 All-Tournament Team

Lauren Falotico, DePauw
Brittany Perry, Denison
Danielle Day, Hiram
Emily Mortimer, Hiram
Kara Seidenstricker, Wittenberg
Camila Quiñones, Wittenberg
MVP: Meghan Vodopich, Wittenberg

Wittenberg (8-0, 20-8) has won its 19th North Coast Athletic Conference volleyball championship after finishing the season with a perfect mark against NCAC foes for the third year in a row and the 16th time overall. Allegheny is second all-time with five titles (1985, 88-91), while Hiram, Kenyon and Ohio Wesleyan have each accumulated two titles. Wooster earned the inaugural league crown in 1984.

There was a three-way tie for second-place in the final league standings between Denison (6-2, 19-7), DePauw (6-2, 24-5) and Hiram (6-2, 20-9); Oberlin (4-4, 11-17) finished fifth followed by Wooster (3-5, 9-21) in sixth, Kenyon (2-6, 2-22) in seventh, Allegheny (1-7, 8-19) in eighth and Ohio Wesleyan (0-8, 9-19) in ninth.

As league champions, Wittenberg has earned the No. 1 seed and the hosting rights for the 2013 NCAC Volleyball Tournament. The two-day event will be held at Pam Evans Smith Arena in Springfield, Ohio, November 8-9. The NCAC Volleyball Tournament is a top-eight, two-court format, with quarterfinal matches on Friday and semifinal, consolation semifinal and final place matches being played on Saturday.

In the 4:00 p.m. quarterfinal matches on Friday, No. 3 Denison takes on No. 6 Wooster and No. 4 DePauw squares off against No. 5 Oberlin. The 7:00 p.m. quarterfinal matches will feature No. 2 Hiram taking on No. 7 Kenyon and No. 1 Wittenberg squaring off against No. 8 Allegheny. The tie between Denison, DePauw and Hiram was broken via the coaches’ tiebreaker system to determine seeds 2-4.

On Saturday, consolation semifinals will be contested at 10:00 a.m., semifinal matches at 12:00 p.m., seventh- and fifth-place matches at 3:30 p.m., the third-place match at 5:30 p.m. and the championship match at 7:30 p.m. In addition, there will be a ceremony following the semifinal matches to recognize the graduating senior and the 2013 All-NCAC teams.

TOURNEY NOTES: The tournament winner receives the NCAC’s automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament ... Wittenberg is the six-time defending tournament champion and has won 18 NCAC Tournaments overall. Allegheny follows the Tigers with five tourney championships, including four-straight between 1988-91. Kenyon (1986, ‘87) and Ohio Wesleyan (1994, ‘96) each hold a pair of titles, while Hiram won the title in 2006 and Wooster earned the inaugural tournament championship in 1984 ... Wittenberg cruised through the tournament a year ago with three straight 3-0 wins, topping Oberlin in the quarterfinals, Wooster in the semifinals and DePauw in the championship match.