Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2015 NCAC Volleyball Tournament


2015 NCAC Volleyball Tournament Champions



Wittenberg's Tournament Website
Friday, Nov. 6 (All matches @ Wittenberg University) Saturday, Nov. 7 (All matches @ Wittenberg University)

Quarterfinal Matches
Match C: #3 DePauw 3, #6 Kenyon 0 {25-21, 25-22, 25-11}
Match B: #4 Hiram 3, #5 Denison 0 {25-17, 25-20, 25-11}
Match A: #1 Wittenberg 3, #8 Allegheny 0 {25-18, 25-14, 25-11}
Match D: #2 Ohio Wesleyan 3, #7 Oberlin 0 {25-19, 25-20, 25-15}

* - Click on set scores to view box




Consolation Semifinal Matches
Match I: Denison 3, Allegheny 2 {19-25, 13-25, 25-18, 25-16, 15-5}
Match J: Kenyon 3, Oberlin 0 {25-22, 25-16, 25-22}

Semifinal Matches
Match E: Wittenberg 3, Hiram 0 {25-23, 25-20, 25-20}
Match F: DePauw 3, Ohio Wesleyan 2 {26-24, 22-25, 25-22, 15-25, 15-7}

Senior Recognition Ceremony and Announcement of All-NCAC Teams
(following semifinal matches)

Seventh-Place Match
Match L: Allegheny 3, Oberlin 1 {25-16, 21-25, 25-14, 25-17}

Fifth-Place Match
Match K: Kenyon 3, Denison 0 {25-16, 25-23, 25-17}

Third-Place Match
Match H: Hiram 3, Ohio Wesleyan 1 {25-21, 25-23, 20-25, 27-25}

Championship Match
Match G: Wittenberg 3, DePauw 1 {25-19, 22-25, 25-16, 25-14}


Tournament Bracket -- History -- Tournament Stats -- Tickets -- Directions

Wittenberg (8-0, 24-2) captured its conference-leading 21st NCAC Volleyball Tournament Championship on Saturday night following a 3-1 victory over DePauw (19-11) in the championship match. The Wittenberg Tigers found their way to the championship match with a 3-0 victory over Allegheny in the quarterfinal round on Friday night and another 3-0 victory over Hiram in the semifinals on Saturday afternoon. The DePauw Tigers paved their path to the championship match with a 3-0 triumph over Kenyon in the quarters and a thrilling 3-2 victory over Ohio Wesleyan in the semifinal round. As tournament champions, Wittenberg receives the NCAC's automatic bid into the 2015 NCAA Division III Tournament.

All-Tournament Team

Laura Kelly, Hiram
Brianna La Croix, Ohio Wesleyan
Keely McGrath, DePauw
Faith Rolwes, DePauw
Megan Flaherty, Wittenberg
Kristina Fultz, Wittenberg

MVP - Kara Seidenstricker, Wittenberg


Wittenberg (8-0, 21-2) has won its 21st North Coast Athletic Conference volleyball championship after finishing the season with a perfect mark against league foes for the fifth year in a row and the 18th time overall. Allegheny is second all-time with five titles (1985, 88-91), while Hiram, Kenyon and Ohio Wesleyan have each accumulated two titles. Wooster earned the inaugural conference championship in 1984.

Ohio Wesleyan (7-1, 25-3) finished second in the final league standings, while Denison (5-3, 13-10), DePauw (5-3, 16-8) and Hiram (5-3, 19-7) finished in a three-way tie for third-place. There was another three-way tie for sixth between Allegheny (2-6, 15-10), Kenyon (2-6, 11-11) and Oberlin (2-6, 7-15), while Wooster (0-8, 12-13) rounded out the league standings in ninth. Both three-way ties were broken via conference policy for tournament seeding purposes only.

As league champions, Wittenberg has earned the No. 1 seed and hosting rights for the 2015 NCAC Volleyball Tournament for the 10th year in a row. The 12-match, two-day event will be held at Pam Evans Smith Arena in Springfield, Ohio, November 6-7. The NCAC Volleyball Tournament is a top-eight, two-court format, with quarterfinal matches on Friday and semifinal, consolation semifinal and final place matches being played on Saturday.

In the 4:00 p.m. quarterfinal matches on Friday, No. 3 DePauw takes on No. 6 Kenyon and No. 4 Hiram squares off against No. 5 Denison. The 7:00 p.m. quarterfinal matches will feature No. 2 Ohio Wesleyan taking on No. 7 Oberlin and No. 1 Wittenberg clashing with No. 8 Allegheny.

On Saturday, consolation semifinal matches will be contested at 10:00 a.m., semifinal matches at 12:00 p.m., seventh- and fifth-place matches at 3:30 p.m., the third-place match at 5:30 p.m. and the championship match at 7:30 p.m.

In addition, the NCAC Senior Recognition Ceremony and Announcement of the 2015 All-NCAC Teams will take place immediately following the semifinal matches on Saturday afternoon.

TOURNEY NOTES: The tournament winner receives the NCAC's automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament ... Wittenberg is the eight-time defending tournament champion and has won 20 NCAC Tournaments overall ... Allegheny follows the Tigers with five tourney championships, including four-straight between 1988-91 ... Kenyon (1986-87) and Ohio Wesleyan (1994, '96) each hold a pair of titles, while Hiram won the title in 2006 and Wooster earned the inaugural tournament championship in 1984 ... Wittenberg cruised through the tournament bracket a year ago, knocking off Wooster in the quarterfinals, Ohio Wesleyan in the semifinals and DePauw in the championship match.