NCAC Cross Country Programs Earn Academic Awards

NCAC Cross Country Programs Earn Academic Awards

Seventeen North Coast Athletic Conference men's and women's cross country teams and 21 student-athletes were honored by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) on Thursday afternoon with Division III All-Academic team and individual awards.

For a team to be considered, it must have competed and compiled a team score at an NCAA Regional meet and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.10 on a 4.0 scale. Overall, there were 393 teams honored by the USTFCCCA, of which 178 were men's teams and 215 were women's teams.

On the men's side, all nine NCAC teams were honored: Allegheny (3.26), Denison (3.13), DePauw (3.39), Kenyon (3.55), Oberlin (3.10), Ohio Wesleyan (3.12), Wabash (3.48), Wittenberg (3.20) and Wooster (3.34). All eight NCAC women's teams received the All-Academic distinction: Allegheny (3.66), Denison (3.43), DePauw (3.31), Kenyon (3.54), Oberlin (3.58), Ohio Wesleyan (3.63), Wittenberg (3.55) and Wooster (3.47).

In order for a student-athletes to qualify for All-Academic, they must have a cumulative GPA of 3.30 and finish in the top 25 percent of their respective regional championship meet. 

The following male athletes were honored, Denison sophomore Adam Cromwell (Fort London, PA/Mercersburg Academy), DePauw seniors Zach Batt (Stafford, VA/North Stafford), Paul Christian (Glen Ellyn, IL/Glenbard West) and Spencer Miller (Southfield, MI/Seaholm) and junior Cole Martin (Noblesville, IN/Noblesville), Ohio Wesleyan junior Ahmed Hamed (Hilliard, OH/Bradley), Wabash juniors Sam Henthorn (Carmel, IN/Westfield) and John Kirts (Springville, IN/Eastern Greene) and Wooster seniors Jackson Feinknopf (Columbus, OH/Bexley) and David Wescott (Millbrook, NY/Millbrook)

The following female athletes were honored, Allegheny seniors Emily Forner (Beaver, PA/Beaver Area) and Sarah Hevener (Hilliard, OH/Hilliard Bradley), sophomores Mica Hanish (Baden, PA/Ambridge) and Sarah Lucas (Charleroi, PA/Ringgold) and freshman Molly Tarvin (New Tripoli, PA/Northwest Lehigh), Kenyon senior Andrea Ludwig (Pleasanton, CA/Livermore Valley Charter Prep), and Oberlin juniors Joy Castro-Wehr (Nevada City, CA/Nevada Union), Marija Crook (Carrboro, NC/Chapel Hill) and Oona Jung-Beeman (Wilmette, IL/New Trier) and sophomore Corrie Purcell (Fayetteville, AR/Fayetteville Senior) and Ohio Wesleyan sophomore Rachel Bush (Mount Gilead, OH/Mount Gilead)